Small Victories: Taking My Own Advice

I have this new trick I’ve discovered. It’s fairly simple but it works for me.

I like to think that I am a fairly good advice giver, particularly when it comes to relationships. I give good advice by trying to relate to the various people involved in whatever dilemma is being presented to the person I am advising.

My issue is that I am not very good at taking my own advice.

I know I can’t be the only one!

I get a kind of “fight or flight” adrenaline feeling where I believe I have to do whatever comes to my head first to get away from the situation at hand. This gives me absolutely no time to really think about how I am going to handle anything. All I am looking for is a quick way out whether that is :-

  • Defeat: Agreeing with something I really don’t understand.

or

  • Victory: Fighting until I feel I have “won”.

Dealing with anything in this way leads to a pretty hollow result, and chances are that when I deal with something in these ways it is never really finished. Whatever the issue is, I feel it hovering over my shoulder until My Dark Side decides to jump out again and restart the entire cycle.

So recently when I was presented with one of my own dilemmas to deal with I took a moment and thought to myself “what would I tell someone else to do if they were in my situation?”

Sounds simple, but it actually worked!

This was a few weeks ago, and I can’t remember what the actual dilemma was. All I remember was that after I took a few moments to reflect inwards and take the advice that I would give to someone else in my situation, everything just felt much clearer. I also felt like I had finally overcome a piece of My Dark Side that had been bothering me for a very long time! These are fairly small things, but the end result when coming peacefully out of a dilemma is a feeling of true victory. This brings confidence, an ego-boost, harmony amongst all involved (at least for a little while!) and in this case a few very happy days :-D

The fact that I am a pretty emotional person means that I do really appreciate small victories!

Leave a Reply

Tillah Willah

words. tunes. trouble-making. mangoes. etc

the school of renovating

Just a blog about two kids learning about renovating the hard way.

One Mother to Another

Let's Do Motherhood Together.

Fr Martin Flatman's Blog

New Blogsite is https://fathermartinblog.wordpress.com

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

cities and islands

Surrounded by water. Surrounded by people.

amilcar sanatan

i may not be many things but one thing i am is an artist

Confessions Of A Crummy Mummy

A UK lifestyle and parenting blog

From Me to Paper

a creative journey

ayummygreenworld

Vegetarian Cooking with Divya Pathak Upadhyay

life[capture]

a celebration of the created

Simply Blushing

Musings on love, life and weddings, of course.

Random Archives

With a bang, not a whimper

Life @ Post

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER COLLEGE

Broken Secrets

Sharing some of life's best kept secrets

Speaking of Marriage

Winifred M. Reilly, M.A., MFT

nicolecherise

Life and Times of Nicole Cherise

